Denis Lawson Confirmed For Victoria Series Two

ITV has announced that the second series of Victoria, written by Daisy Goodwin, will feature Denis Lawson (New Tricks) as the Duke of Atholl, who welcomes Victoria and Albert to the Highlands, in scenes filmed at Blair Castle in Perthshire.

Series two picks up the story six weeks after the first, with Victoria (Jenna Coleman) now a working mother, learning to balance her responsibilities as both parent and Queen. However, with Prince Albert (Tom Hughes) still struggling to find a role for himself there is an inevitable power struggle between husband and wife.

In addition to drama at Buckingham Palace, the series will also include trips to France and Germany, touch on tragedy in Ireland and war in Afghanistan, and see Victoria and Albert discovering sanctuary in the Isle of Wight.

Returning cast members for series two include Nigel Lindsay (Unforgotten) as Sir Robert Peel, Alex Jennings (The Lady In The Van) as King Leopold, Peter Bowles (To The Manor Born) as Duke of Wellington, David Oakes (The White Queen) as Ernest, Daniela Holtz (Circle Of Life) as Baroness Lehzen and Catherine Flemming (Tatort) as the Duchess of Kent.

Meanwhile, Martin Compston (Line Of Duty) will guest star as Dr. Robert Traill, a key campaigner in the petition to raise awareness of the potato famine in Ireland during the 1840s; and Dame Diana Rigg (Game Of Thrones) will join as the Duchess of Bucchleuch, the young Queen’s new Mistress of the Robes who is renowned for speaking her mind.