ITV Confirm Endeavour To Return For Series 4

ITV have announced that Inspector Morse prequel Endeavour will return for a fourth series, and filming on location in Oxford is imminent. The series will once again be written by show creator Russell Lewis.

Series four opens in 1967 and barely a fortnight has passed since the end of series three. Endeavour is waiting for the results of his Sergeant’s Exam, drinking to excess to numb his heart, and Thursday and Win are faced with an empty nest – Sam has left for the Army and Joan has gone to who knows where?

Meanwhile, at Lovelace College a scientists are about to unveil a ‘thinking machine’ to challenge the Soviets, and plunge Endeavour and Thursday into their most perilous and baffling case to date.

Endeavour stars Shaun Evans as the young Morse, Roger Allam as Detective Inspector Fred Thursday, Anton Lesser as Chief Superintendent Reginald Bright, Sean Rigby as PC Jim Strange, James Bradshaw as Doctor Max deBryn, Caroline O’Neil as Win Thursday, Dakota Blue Richards as WPC Shirley Trewlove, and Abigail Thaw as Dorothea Frazil.

The first episode will also feature James Laurenson, who appeared in the first episode of Inspector Morse in 1987 as Tony Richards. This time he will play Professor Amory and his appearance will coincide with the 30th anniversary of Morse in 2017.