Doctor Who is the longest-running science fiction TV series in history, airing initially from 1963 to 1989. Doctor Who is about ideas. It pioneered sophisticated mixed-level storytelling. Its format was the key to its longevity: the Doctor, a mysterious traveller in space and time, travels in his ship, the Tardis. The Tardis can take him and his companions anywhere in time and space. Inevitably he finds evil at work wherever he goes..

Cast: The Fourth Doctor - Tom Baker; The First Doctor - Richard Hurndall; The First Doctor - William Hartnell; The Third Doctor - Jon Pertwee; The Second Doctor - Patrick Troughton; The Fifth Doctor - Peter Davison; Brigadier Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart - Nicholas Courtney; Sarah Jane Smith - Elisabeth Sladen; Jo Grant - Katy Manning; Sergeant Benton - John Levene; Romanadvoratrelundar "Romana" II - Lalla Ward; Tegan Jovanka - Janet Fielding; The Seventh Doctor - Sylvester McCoy; K-9 - John Leeson; The Master (1st) - Roger Delgado; The Sixth Doctor - Colin Baker; Ace - Sophie Aldred; Leela - Louise Jameson; Vislor Turlough - Mark Strickson; Harry Sullivan - Ian Marter; Elizabeth "Liz" Shaw - Caroline John; Nyssa - Sarah Sutton; Susan Foreman - Carole Anne Ford; Captain Mike Yates - Richard Franklin; Ian Chesterton - William Russell; Barbara Wright - Jacqueline Hill; Perpugilliam "Peri" Brown - Nicola Bryant; Romanadvoratrelundar "Romana" I - Mary Tamm; The Master - Anthony Ainley; Ben Jackson - Michael Craze; Polly Wright - Anneke Wills; Melanie - Bonnie Langford; Jamie McCrimmon - Frazer Hines; Kamelion - Gerald Flood; Zoe Herriot - Wendy Padbury; Adric - Matthew Waterhouse; Steven Taylor - Peter Purves; Victoria Waterfield - Deborah Watling; Dr Grace Holloway - Daphne Ashbrook; Katarina - Adrienne Hill; The Eighth Doctor - Paul McGann; Vicki - Maureen O'Brien; Dorothea 'Dodo' Chaplet - Jackie Lane;

Network: BBC One (United Kingdom)
Premiered: 23.November.1963
Status: Ended